Research Databases

Page 1 of 2
  • Connects people to local health & human service agencies and programs on Long Island.
  • 202 world city and country travel guides
  • Fully searchable electronic directory
  • Search by name, specialty, sub-specialty, city, state and zip code - or any combination.
  • Genealogy - tracing family histories
  • Images of original U.S. Census records
  • New York State records for genealogy research available to use in the library or remotely
  • Includes 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business executive profiles
  • 1.1 million healthcare professionals
  • Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives

Spanish Interface available by clicking here

  • For older students and adults
  • Resources to conduct research, complete homework assignments, and work on special projects

Este portal le ofrece recursos de referencia en español para todas las edades en dos interfaces exclusivos — cada uno con una enciclopedia adaptada al lector: Enciclopedia Universal en Español para High School (edad de 14+) y la Enciclopedia Juvenil para edades de 6-12 años.

  • Select the appropriate level
  • Offers research support for students in elementary through high school
  • Content is differentiated for elementary, middle, and high school reading levels
  • U.S. and International company profiles and histories
  • Industry rankings, investment reports and financial overviews
  • Magazine articles and links to websites
  • Includes Business and Company ASAP and Business Index ASAP
  • Company, industry, economic and geopolitical research
  • Profiles of careers, including Multimedia Interviews
  • Information on Colleges and Universities
  • Resume Builder
  • Bilingual
  • Selections from the latest issue of Consumer Reports print edition
  • Product and Service Ratings and Recommendations
  • Searchable archive of the past four years of Ratings


Our patrons can also read Consumer Reports Magazine online by using Flipster, our eMagazine service. Click here.

  • Single, comprehensive list of periodical titles to which you have access
  • Allows you to see in what databases they appear
  • Locate and link by keyword or by browsing an alphabetical list by title or subject.
  • Periodicals and reference content supporting the education field.
  • Online catalog for Nassau County Libraries
  • Kid-friendly way to search for magazine articles
  • Pamphlets, Photos, Maps and Flag
  • History Reference Center
  • American Heritage Dictionary
  • GreenFile
  • Teacher Reference Center
  • Topic Overviews.
  • Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources
  • Biographies in the areas of literature, science, business, entertainment, history, current events and the arts.
  • Who's Who, magazine articles, pictures and links to websites
  • Find biographies by name, nationality, occupation and gender
  • Newspaper and Periodical articles of general interest
  • Full-text newspaper resource searchable by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields
  • Provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers
  • Includes the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Financial Times (London), The New York Times, The Times (London), USA Today and many others.
  • Criticism, biographies and list of works for noted authors
  • Contains over 85 Gannett newspapers from around New York State including: Glens Falls Post-Star, New York Times, New York Observer, New York Post, and Newsday.
  • Cross-search Gale collections and databases for comprehensive results
  • Consumer health and medical information
  • Includes herbal remedies, alternative or complementary treatments
  • Access to full text of nursing and allied health journals
  • Personal health information sources
  • Genealogy - tracing family histories
  • Images of original U.S. Census records
  • Full page and article images with searchable full text
  • Coverage runs from 1940 through 1985
  • Company research about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies
  • 225,000 key executives
  • Financial data, competitors and history
  • Articles in English and Spanish
  • Texto completo de 50 periódicos bilingües de la lengua española, incluyendo real, Latina y Siempre. Texto completo de EL Nuevo Herald, Miami, la Florida.
  • Powered by Brainfuse
  • Provides live interactive online help, with online resources
  • For Grades K - 5, offering curriculum-related, age appropriate, full text content
  • Reading levels are assigned to each article: "easy" and "more difficult
  • Interactive exam preparation, tutorials, practice tests and computer skills
  • SAT, GRE, GMAT and other educational tests
  • Civil Service and Licensing Exams and Job and Career Help Center
  • Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC)
  • Poems, Short Stories, Essays, Speeches and Plays
  • Biographies, summaries, and criticisms
  • Search by author, subject, title, date, nationality and gender
  • Full-text from 1985 to present
  • What to Read Next
  • Book Discussion Guides and Booktalks
  • Series, Find Similar Books, and Book Reviews
  • Book Discussion Guides and Teacher Resources
  • Series, Find Similar Books, and Book Reviews
  • Periodicals and reference content supporting health care professionals
  • Covers all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration
Page 1 of 2